May 26, 2020 | 5:52 PM IST
uefa champions

UEFA Champions League kicks off today; Finale in May 2020

About 32 European football teams will clash at the 65th edition of Europe’s premier club football tournament Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) Champions League 2019-20 that kicked off on Tuesday. The finals will be played on May 30, 2020, at Ataturk Stadium in Istanbul, Turkey. The winning team will be rewarded with a sum of 632 crores which is about 142 per cent more than the amount won by the French team at the FIFA football World cup.
Prominent teams including FC Barcelona, Juventus F.C., Real Madrid C.F., Manchester City F.C., Liverpool F.C. fight each other to win the prestigious cup.

Though team Manchester City are betting favourites, Liverpool too enters the competition as a defending champion and will be one of the favourites to win the competition again. It was Liverpool that won their sixth UEFA Champions League last season.
Last season’s underperformers The Madrid Clubs – Atletico, Real Madrid and Bayern Munich and Inter Milan too have geared up to meet the challenge this year. 
There will also be inaugural Champions League bows for the likes of Atalanta  B.C. (Italy), and returns for teams like Lille OSC (France), SK Slavia Prague (Czech Republic) and KRC Genk (Belgium) among others.

UEFA is the governing body of football in Europe and its parent organisation is Federation International de Football Association. The tournament is the most prestigious football club tournament in the world and offers a platform to feature the best clubs from leagues across Europe compete against each other.

Champions League 2019-20 Group Stage Draw
Group A: Paris Saint-Germain, Real Madrid, Club Brugge, Galatasaray
Group B: Bayern Munich, Tottenham, Olympiakos, Red Star Belgrade
Group C: Manchester City, Shakhtar Donetsk, Dinamo Zagreb, Atalanta
Group D: Juventus, Atletico Madrid, Bayer Leverkusen, Lokomotiv Moscow
Group E: Liverpool, Napoli, Salzburg, Genk
Group F: Barcelona, Borussia Dortmund, Inter Milan, Slavia Prague
Group G: Zenit St. Petersburg, Benfica, Lyon, Leipzig
Group H: Chelsea, Ajax, Valencia, Lille

Editor In Chief

Editor In Chief is an publisher and journalist. He is regular columnist of the website NewsInInd. He is experienced in national and political issues with more than 500 blogs.