September 22, 2020 | 4:52 AM IST
bcci chief

Sourav Ganguly takes over as BCCI chief

Former India Captain Sourav Ganguly formally took over as the 39th president of Board for Control for Cricket (BCCI) on Wednesday at the BCCI’s Annual General Meeting in Mumbai. His appointment has finally ended a tumultuous 33-month reign of the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA). Ganguly’s tenure ends on September 2020.
The 47-year-old former player was elected unopposed for the post. He will serve 9-months ‘'Cooling-Off' period which is mandatory after six years in office as per the new BCCI constitution.

Ganguly has taken over the post at a crucial time when the International Cricket Council has left India out of its new working group. On the home front, he faces the challenge of having quality cricketers on board as far as the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) and national selection committees are concerned.
On an earlier occasion, Ganguly said that he aims to concentrate restructuring of first-class cricket and getting the administration back in shape as it was in the days of former BCCI Chief Jagmohan Dalmia.

Ganguly took over as Team India captain in 2000 and has 113 Tests, 311 one-day internationals and led India to 21 Test victories. He has also served as chairman of the BCCI technical committee. Presently, he is the president of the Cricket Association of Bengal and a member of the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC).
The other office-bearers who took over different posts along with Ganguly include Mahim Verma (Vice-President), Jay Shah (Secretary), Kerala Cricket Association president Jayesh George (joint secretary) and Arun Dhumal (Treasurer).

Editor In Chief

Editor In Chief is an publisher and journalist. He is regular columnist of the website NewsInInd. He is experienced in national and political issues with more than 500 blogs.