August 20, 2019 | 6:50 PM IST
lok sabha

Sixth phase of 39-day LS voting concludes in 59 constituencies

Amid slight clashes the sixth phase of 17th Lok Sabha polls on Sunday covering 59 constituencies across six states and one Union Territory registered an overall tentative voter turnout of 63.3 per cent says a report issued by the Election Collection. With this, voting for about 483 (89 per cent) of 545 constituencies has been completed.
Over one lakh polling booths were set up in which the fate of 979 candidates were at stake.  Secret ballots were cast in Bihar (8), Haryana (10), Jharkhand (4), Madhya Pradesh (8), Uttar Pradesh (14), West Bengal (8), and Delhi-NCR (7)

A report reveals that while Delhi saw a turnout of 59.1, Bihar recorded 59.4 per cent, Haryana had 64 per cent voters coming out to vote and Jharkhand registered 65.2 per cent total voter turnout.  Madhya Pradesh recorded 60.7 per cent total turnout, Uttar Pradesh recorded 54 per cent and West Bengal saw 80.2 per cent turnout till 3 pm.

In West Bengal, BJP’s Bharati Ghosh from Ghatal was attacked by Trinamool Congress women workers and when in retaliation a Trinamool Congress worker was hit by a bullet fired by her security guard. They also hurled stones towards her and her convoy. Ghosh suffered minor injuries and her vehicle severely damaged. The incident occurred in Keshpura area. In Jharkhand’s west Singhbhum there were reports of community clashes coming in though they did not affect the polling. In another incident a poll officer on duty was beaten up in Uttar Pradesh and a home guard killed during a mock poll in Bihar’s Sheohar. 

Only four people from a village in Rajgarh had exercised their vote till 3 pm while three villages in Morena boycotted the polls in MP. Poll boycotts were also witnessed in Jhargram and Purulia of West Bengal.

In another incident, former cricketer Bishan Singh Bedi was not able to cast the vote as his name did not feature in the list.
The last phase of elections will be held on May 19 for 59 seats across eight states and one union territory - Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, Punjab Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Chandigarh.

Editor In Chief

Editor In Chief is an publisher and journalist. He is regular columnist of the website NewsInInd. He is experienced in national and political issues with more than 500 blogs.