August 20, 2019 | 6:47 PM IST
ipl title

Mumbai Indians clinch IPL title for fourth time

Chennai Super Kings lost the 2019 IPL final by just 1 run to Mumbai Indians – making it the four-time champ – at Hyderabad’s Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Sunday.
It is for the second time Mumbai Indians bagged the trophy by a single run at the same stadium. It was in 2017 that it beat Rising Pune Supergiant by just one run.
MI won the toss and Captain Rohit Sharma opted to bat first. Quinton de Kock led a rapid charge for MI who was playing their 5th IPL final. But he was dismissed soon. MI set a score of 149/8. Lasith Malinga produced an incredible last over to defend his nine runs.

Bowlers Jasprit Bumrah, Rahul Chahar and Imran Tahir gave match-winning performance in second innings. Bumrah was the man of the match while Andre Russell won the title of being season’s most valuable player.  Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav and Krunal pandya too failed to make a mark as CSK took steady steps into the game.

On the other hand, Shardul Thakur was dismissed on the final ball of the match that gave MI a thrilling one-run- victory. Thakur failed to get any connection to Lasith Malinga’s slower-ball Yorker and was given out. Shane Watson too scored a brilliant 80 off 59 balls for CSK in the chase, but it wasn’t enough as it lost by a solitary run as MI clinched the title.

Editor In Chief

Editor In Chief is an publisher and journalist. He is regular columnist of the website NewsInInd. He is experienced in national and political issues with more than 500 blogs.