September 22, 2020 | 5:06 AM IST
Jharkhand Assembly polls

Jharkhand Assembly polls to be held in 5 phases; first phase on Nov 30

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Friday evening announced that the Jharkhand Assembly polls for 82 seats will be held in November-December in five phases. The tenure of the existing assembly expires on January 5, 2020. 

The polling phases will be held on November 30, December 7 for 20 constituencies, December 12, December 16 and December 20. The counting will be held on December 23. With the announcement of the poll dates, the Model Code of Conduct has also come into effect in the state. 

While 81 members will be directly elected, one would be nominated. The total Number of electors as per final electoral rolls is 2,26,58,948. 

The present legislative assembly is dominated by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which has 35 members. The other parties that represent the assembly include 5 members of All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU), 17 of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), 6 of Congress and 8 from Jharkhand Vikas Morcha - Prajatantrik (JVM-P) and 1 each from Communist Party of India- Marxist–Leninist (CPI-ML), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Jharkhand Party, Jai Bharat Samanta Party (JBSP), Marxist Coordination Committee (MCC) and Navjawan Sangharsh Morcha (NSM).

Editor In Chief

Editor In Chief is an publisher and journalist. He is regular columnist of the website NewsInInd. He is experienced in national and political issues with more than 500 blogs.