September 22, 2019 | 4:28 AM IST
World Cup

ICC Cricket World Cup kicks off at The Oval today

The ICC Cricket World Cup kicks off today at London’s The Oval. The match will be played between England and South Africa at 3 pm IST. A total of 10 teams will be playing round-robin format in the coming six weeks. The participating teams include England, India, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. 

The round-robin format which is similar to that of the Indian Premier League ensures that the top teams play at least nine matches each and there are no playoffs after the group stage. Only 10 teams, the best in the world- are participating in the game ensuring that the fans remain glued to their television sets. 

The Indian team will be led by Virat Kohli. While the England squad will play under the captainship of Eoin Morgan while the South Africans will be led by Faf du Plessis.

Royal Family honours world cup teams:

During the opening ceremony held on Wednesday, the captains of 10 teams met the British Royal family at a gala event at the Mall opposite Buckingham Palace in Central London. The event was presented by former England cricketer Andrew Flintoff, Paddy McGuinness and Shibani Dandekar. It had the exciting 60-second challenge adding to the fun quotient.  The ceremony concluded with the official ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 theme song, ‘Stand By’ a collaboration between LORYN and Rudimental.

After meeting the Royal family, the ten captains then joined the special invitees at the Garden Party hosted by the Queen at the Palace.  

Editor In Chief

Editor In Chief is an publisher and journalist. He is regular columnist of the website NewsInInd. He is experienced in national and political issues with more than 500 blogs.