December 7, 2019 | 6:49 AM IST
sri lanka visa

SL offers free-visa on arrival to revive tourism post Easter Sunday tragedy; Includes India

In order to revive tourism industry in Sri Lanka (SL), which slumped post Easter Sunday bombings, the SL government has decided to introduce the free visa-on-arrival scheme for 46 countries, including India from August 1.

In April, SL suspended its visas on arrival programme of 39 countries (excluding India and China) after the incident that killed 258 people. But the government extended the facility to 10 other nations in which India also is listed. The other additional nine nations apart from India include Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Philippines, Russia, China and England.
 The Tourism and Christian Affairs Minister John Amaratunge was confirming the report said, “The original scheme was to come into force on May 1, but the security fears after the jihadi bombings led it to be put on hold.”

 The programme already allows tourists from Thailand, the European Union, the UK, the US, Japan, Australia, Switzerland, Cambodia to get free visas, said a report.
It may be noted that the tourism industry dipped by 7.5 per cent since April 2019 compared to last year same period.

Editor In Chief

Editor In Chief is an publisher and journalist. He is regular columnist of the website NewsInInd. He is experienced in national and political issues with more than 500 blogs.