August 13, 2020 | 6:16 PM IST
delhi election 2020

Delhi votes to elect new assembly; Political biggies urge people to cast vote

In the backdrop of the anti-Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA), Delhi turned out to vote to elect a new government for the state assembly on Saturday. The election, which is being held in a single phase, began at 8 am, and the results will be declared on February 11.
President Ram Nath Kovind and his wife Savita Kovind were among the early voters and cast their votes at Dr. Rajendra Prasad Kendriya Vidyalaya, President’s Estate.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal along with his family cast his vote at a polling booth in Civil Lines. He is contesting against Sunil Yadav of BJP and Romesh Sabharwal of the Congress. Delhi CM appealed people to cast their votes and said, "I am hopeful that people of Delhi will vote on the basis of the work done. I am hopeful that the Aam Aadmi Party will come back to power. Urge all young voters to come out to vote. Your participation strengthens democracy."
Prime Minister Narendra Modi too urged people to participate in the festival of democracy in huge numbers and create a new record.

In all, about 672 candidates are contesting for 70 assembly seats. There are a total of 1,46,92,136 voters out of which 80,55,686 are men, 66,35,635 are women and 815 belong to the third gender.
This year’s assembly poll is a clear-cut triangular contest between the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress party. In 2015 assembly elections, AAP - led by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal - won an eye-popping 67 seats ousting Congress that ruled for 15 years.

This year, the BJP is contesting 67 seats and three seats have been given to its alliance partners, Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United). The Congress, on the other hand, has fielded 66 candidates in association with Lalu Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), which has a share of four seats.
Elaborate security arrangements have been made with around 40,000 security personnel, 19,000 home guards and 190 companies of Central Armed Police Forces to ensure smooth conduct of the polls. 

Editor In Chief

Editor In Chief is an publisher and journalist. He is regular columnist of the website NewsInInd. He is experienced in national and political issues with more than 500 blogs.