August 13, 2020 | 6:10 PM IST
leader resign

Congressmen at key posts resign post defeat

With Congress’ obnoxious defeat in 17th Lok Sabha elections on Thursday, several leaders occupying prominent posts in the party have rendered their resignation owing ‘moral responsibility’.

Uttar Pradesh Congress Chief Raj Babbar has sent his resignation to Party President Rahul Gandhi. The report was confirmed by party’s state unit spokesperson Rajiv Bakshi in Lucknow. The actor-politician contested from Fatehpur Sikri and lost to BJP’s Rajkumar Chahar by a margin of over 4,95,065 votes.

On Friday, Babbar tweeted, “The results are depressing for the Uttar Pradesh Congress. I hold myself responsible for not executing my responsibilities in a fruitful manner. I will meet the leadership and let the higher-up know my views.” He also congratulated the victorious for winning the confidence of the people.
Similarly, president of Amethi district Congress committee Yogendra Mishra and president of Odisha Pradesh Congress committee Niranjan Patnaik too have relinquished their posts on the same grounds.

Patnaik said, “I have sent my resignation to AICC president owning moral responsibility for the party’s poor show in both LS and Assembly polls in the state.” He added, “The party needs to win back the confidence of the people and take firm steps to set the organisation in proper shape.”
Amidst these reports there was also this news of former Karnataka CM and Congress leader Siddaramaiah tendering their resignation. However, the veteran refused any such news as of now.

Editor In Chief

Editor In Chief is an publisher and journalist. He is regular columnist of the website NewsInInd. He is experienced in national and political issues with more than 500 blogs.