February 19, 2020 | 10:30 AM IST
anti-terror law

Centre designates Dawood Ibrahim, Hafiz Saeed, Zakir-ur-Rahman, Masood Azhar ‘individual terrorists’ under Amended UAPA

Under the new anti-terror law, the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) on Wednesday designated underworld don Dawood Ibrahim, Lashkar-e-Taiba's Hafiz Saeed and his deputy Zakir-ur-Rahman Lakhvi and Jaish-e-Mohammed chief Maulana Masood Azhar as terrorists. This has been done nearly a month after the parliament approved a crucial amendment to the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Amendment Act, 1967. This allows the National Investigation Agency (NIA) to attach properties linked to a terror investigation without taking permission from the state police.
While Azhar, Saeed, and Lakhvi are Pakistanis, Indian has enough evidence of Dawood living in Pakistan.

Azhar-led Jaish was the mastermind of 2001 attack on the Indian Parliament and the Pulwama terror attack on February 14, 2019, in which 40 jawans lost their lives. He was also listed as an international terrorist by the United Nations Security Council on May 1, 2019.
It may be recalled that in 1994, Azhar was arrested from Kashmir’s Anantnag, but had to be released in December after an Indian airline was hijacked and the hijackers put his release as a condition for freeing the hostages.

Hafiz Saeed and his deputy Lakhvi have been designated for his involvement in Red Fort attack (2000) Rampur attack (2008), 26/11 Mumbai attack (2008) and attack on BSF convoy at Udhampur in Jammu and Kashmir (2015).
On the other hand, Dawood Ibraham has been held responsible for planning and executing the 1993 Mumbai serial blasts.

Editor In Chief

Editor In Chief is an publisher and journalist. He is regular columnist of the website NewsInInd. He is experienced in national and political issues with more than 500 blogs.