Women’s Hockey World Cup to start from tomorrow



The 2018 FIH Women’s Hockey World Cup is scheduled to be held from July 21 to August 5 at Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre in London. There will be 16 teams participating in the World Cup tournament: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, China, England, Germany, Italy, India, Ireland, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, and USA.

hockey teams

Indian Hockey team will be led by Captain and Striker Rani Rampal. The match of Team India is scheduled with Team England, Ireland, and America on July 21, July 26, and July 29, respectively.

Team India will be participating in the Hockey WC after a break of 7 years. In 2010, India had finished an average ninth, though it was their best position in the tournament since 1978 when they’d finished seventh.

Key matches of the tournament:

Quarter finals

Wednesday, August 1

QF 1, 6pm

QF 2, 8.15pm

Thursday, August 2

QF 3, 6pm

QF 4, 8.15pm

Semi finals 

Saturday, August 4

SF 1, 2pm

SF 2, 4,30pm

Bronze medal match 

Sunday, August, 5 – 2pm

Gold medal match

Sunday, August 5 – 4.30pm

Argentina, Netherland, and Germany had participated in all 13 Hockey World Cups, out of which, Netherland has bagged the trophy for seven times.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About amipiyainfotech