August 20, 2019 | 7:02 PM IST

BCCI ready to pitch15-member team for ICC World Cup 2019

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has finally announced its 15-member team and has chosen to play safe for the ICC World Cup 2019 to be played in England and Wales. The National Selection Committee headed by MSK Prasad decided on players who have already proved their mettle in earlier or recent past matches which included Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami.

The deadline for the finalisation of the team was April 23, but the BCCI decided to do it eight days in advance at BCCI’s Mumbai headquarter. India will begin its World Cup campaign against South Africa on June 5 at the Rose Bowl Stadium in Southampton. The selectors have picked only three specialist pacers – Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammad Shami. Dinesh Karthik will replace Rishabh Pant as the second wicket-keeper behind MS Dhoni. The middle order remains a patch of worry for the selectors as the squad lacks firepower in the death overs barring Pandya.

Bowler Jadeja is the first choice of the selectors for his brilliant performance on the field and the superb scoring for the Chennai Super Kings in the recent IPL. He takes the third spinner’s slot alongside wrist spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav.

Editor In Chief

Editor In Chief is an publisher and journalist. He is regular columnist of the website NewsInInd. He is experienced in national and political issues with more than 500 blogs.